Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers (Burnside Series #2) – Review

March 21, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers (Burnside Series #2) – Review

Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers (Burnside Series #2) – ReviewRelease Date: May 6, 2014
Title: Laugh
Series: The Burnside Series #2
Author: Mary Ann Rivers
Pages: 288
Publisher: Loveswept
Source: NetGalley
Available: Barnes and Noble | iBookstore
From the Publisher: Mary Ann Rivers continues her Burnside family series—perfect for readers of Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Ruthie Knox—as two people try to share their hearts without losing their cool.

Dr. Sam Burnside is convinced that volunteering at an urban green-space farm in Lakefield, Ohio, is a waste of time—especially with his new health clinic about to open. He only goes to mollify his partner, suspecting she wants him to lighten up. Then Sam catches sight of Nina Paz, a woman who gives off more heat than a scorcher in July. Her easy smile and flirty, sizzling wit has him forgetting his infamous need for control.

Widowed when her husband was killed in Afghanistan, Nina has learned that life exists to take chances. As the daughter of migrant workers turned organic farmers, she’s built an exciting and successful business by valuing new opportunities and working hard to take care of her own. But when Sam pushes for a relationship that goes beyond their hotter-than-fire escapades, Nina ignores her own hard-won wisdom. She isn’t ready for a man who needs saving—even if her heart compels her to take the greatest risk of all: love.
5 Stars

I don’t know how she does it, but Mary Ann Rivers has taken the most unlikable character from Live (the first book in the Burnside Series) and turned him into someone my heart positively aches for.

This book is one of the most shining illustrations of the notion that what you see isn’t always what you get when it comes to fucked up humans.

And it’s amazing.

When I realized this book was about Sam, the eldest of the Burnside clan, I was turned off. I loved Des and Hefin in Live and Sam didn’t understand their love. He basically told Des she was stupid for falling for this man. And then he railed on his other sister Sarah while she was in the hospital.

His purpose in that book was mostly to make me want to punch him.

But now… now I understand who Sam is. Why Sam is the way he is.

Seeing someone from the outside and then spending time in their head can make you see them completely differently.

My journey through this book was, as always when it comes to a Mary Ann Rivers novel, documented through Twitter.

That’s basically it in a nutshell. I was wary. The sex scenes were incredibly steamy. Sam opened up and I saw who he really is. And then I cried tears of joy.

That’s one hell of a journey for a single book.

My advice to you? Read everything Mary Ann Rivers has ever written. You won’t regret it.


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge