Author: Chelsea Cameron

chelsea

Chelsea M. Cameron is a YA/NA New York Times/USA Today Best Selling author from Maine. Lover of things random and ridiculous, Jane Austen/Charlotte and Emily Bronte Fangirl, red velvet cake enthusiast, obsessive tea drinker, vegetarian, former cheerleader and world's worst video gamer. When not writing, she enjoys watching infomercials, singing in the car and tweeting (this one time, she was tweeted by Neil Gaiman). She has a degree in journalism from the University of Maine, Orono that she promptly abandoned to write about the people in her own head. More often than not, these people turn out to be just as weird as she is.

Her New Adult Contemporary Romance titles include My Favorite Mistake, which has been bought by Harlequin along with a sequel, Deeper We Fall and Faster We Burn (April 20, 2013)

Her Young Adult books include Nocturnal, Nightmare and Neither, the first three books in The Noctalis Chronicles. The fourth and final book, Neverend will be out in 2013. Whisper, the first in The Whisper Trilogy is also available, with the second book in the series, Silence and the final book, Listen coming out in 2014.

Divider

My Sweetest Escape by Chelsea M. Cameron – Review

January 10, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

My Sweetest Escape by Chelsea M. Cameron – Review

My Sweetest Escape by Chelsea M. Cameron – ReviewRelease Date: January 28, 2014
Title: My Sweetest Escape
Series: My Favorite Mistake #2
Author: Chelsea Cameron
Pages: 384
Publisher: Harlequin HQN
Source: NetGalley
Available: Barnes and Noble | Kobo | iBookstore | The Book Depository | Powell's
From the Publisher: The past will always find you.

Jos Archer was the girl with the perfect life; until the night it all came crashing down around her. Now, nine months later, she still hasn't begun to pick up the pieces. Even transferring to a new college and living under the watchful eye of her older sister, Renee, isn't enough to help her feel normal again.

And then she meets Dusty Sharp. For reasons Jos can't begin to fathom, the newly reformed campus bad boy seems determined to draw her out of her shell. And if she's not careful, his knowing green eyes and wicked smile will make her feel things she's no longer sure she deserves.

But even as Dusty coaxes Jos to open up about the past, he's hiding secrets of his own. Secrets about the night her old life fell apart. When the truth is finally revealed, will it bring them closer together;or tear them apart for good?
5 Stars

It’s no secret that Chelsea M. Cameron is one of my favorite romance authors. She hits it out of the park every single time.

But this one – this one is my favorite so far. It touched me in a way that the others haven’t because the characters were more broken, but still able to find redemption.

Jos was my kind of girl. Even though it annoyed me to no end that she held all of her secrets so tightly inside, I loved her.

And Dusty – well he just made me swoon. I’m pretty sure there are no real college boys like that.

It was also great to see the whole gang again from My Favorite Mistake. It’s always fun to see worlds collide and paths intersect in series like these, where each story is of a different person’s life rather than a continuation of a single plot. The world feels fuller, richer when we get to experience it this way.

New Adult exploded onto the scene in 2013, and it wasn’t always good. But Chelsea M. Cameron found her footing quickly and set the bar very very high. I can’t wait to read more!

Divider

For Real by Chelsea M. Cameron – Review & Giveaway (Blog Tour Stop)

November 15, 2013 Blog Tour, Giveaways, Review 2 ★★★★

For Real by Chelsea M. Cameron – Review & Giveaway (Blog Tour Stop)

FR_TourBanner

Welcome to my stop on the For Real blog tour! Click the banner to see the full schedule!

For Real by Chelsea M. Cameron – Review & Giveaway (Blog Tour Stop)Release Date: November 14, 2013
Title: For Real
Series: Rules of Love #1
Author: Chelsea Cameron
Publisher: DRC Publishing
Source: Inkslinger PR Blog Tours
Available: Barnes and Noble | Amazon

From the Publisher: Two people. One fake relationship. What could go wrong?

When virgin Shannon Travers gets fed up with her friends demanding that she find a boyfriend, she enlists the help of tattooed, mohawk-rocking graphic design student Jett. He’s more than happy to play along with their Fake Relationship, including the Ten Rules of Fake Dating that control-freak Shannon comes up with. Even if he likes to violate them. Repeatedly.

But what happens when Fake Dating starts to feel… not fake anymore? Will Shannon be willing to let go and embrace the first thing in her life that’s ever felt REAL?
4 Stars

For Real completely blew my expectations out of the water. I knew that I had absolutely LOVED My Favorite Mistake but I just didn’t expect to get that level of quality out of another romance. Yes, I’m a snob.

And, yes I was wrong.

Shannon is a virgin. And she’s tired of her friends giving her crap about it. One night they push her too far and she snaps. (Seriously, they go way too far – how she managed to stay friends with those guys is beyond me). She meets Jett (well, re-meets – they’d briefly met once before) and goes home with him. Not to actually have sex with him – just so it looks like she did. But then Shannon and Jett take it one step further – they plan an entire fake relationship to get her friends off her back.

Fake Girlfriend? Meet Fake Boyfriend.

It’s adorable.

They make up rules and everything (Rule #3 is no incidental contact unless they’re in public where they’re expected to be all over each other).

But it turns out… a fake relationship feels an awful lot like a real one. Especially when two people get along as well as Jett and Shannon do.

As the date of doom (the date they planned to “break up”) approaches… things get intense.

And it’s just fabulous.

And honestly – it’s not just Jett and Shannon that made me love this book! Javi and Hazel (the roommates, respectively) were interesting characters in their own right. Enough so that something tells me the next book might just be about those two.

For Real was honestly the best kind of book. It wasn’t insta-love – we got to experience them fall in love as they did. It was sweet. It was beautiful. And it made me remember why I love to read about love.

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Chelsea Cameron

chelsea

Chelsea M. Cameron is a YA/NA New York Times/USA Today Best Selling author from Maine. Lover of things random and ridiculous, Jane Austen/Charlotte and Emily Bronte Fangirl, red velvet cake enthusiast, obsessive tea drinker, vegetarian, former cheerleader and world's worst video gamer. When not writing, she enjoys watching infomercials, singing in the car and tweeting (this one time, she was tweeted by Neil Gaiman). She has a degree in journalism from the University of Maine, Orono that she promptly abandoned to write about the people in her own head. More often than not, these people turn out to be just as weird as she is.

Her New Adult Contemporary Romance titles include My Favorite Mistake, which has been bought by Harlequin along with a sequel, Deeper We Fall and Faster We Burn (April 20, 2013)

Her Young Adult books include Nocturnal, Nightmare and Neither, the first three books in The Noctalis Chronicles. The fourth and final book, Neverend will be out in 2013. Whisper, the first in The Whisper Trilogy is also available, with the second book in the series, Silence and the final book, Listen coming out in 2014.

Divider

My Favorite Mistake by Chelsea Cameron – Review

August 16, 2013 Review 2 ★★★★★

My Favorite Mistake by Chelsea Cameron – Review

My Favorite Mistake by Chelsea Cameron – ReviewRelease Date: August 27, 2013
Title: My Favorite Mistake
Author: Chelsea Cameron
Pages: 400
Publisher: Harlequin HQN
Source: NetGalley
Available: Barnes and Noble | Kobo | The Book Depository | Powell's
From the Publisher: Two secrets. One bet. Who will break first?

Taylor Caldwell can't decide if she wants to kiss her new college roommate or punch him.

On the one hand, Hunter Zaccadelli is a handsome blue-eyed bundle of charm. On the other, he's a tattooed, guitar-playing bad boy. Maybe that's why Taylor's afraid of falling in love with him, or anyone else. She doesn't want to get burned, so she needs him gone before it's too late.

Hunter himself has been burned before, but Taylor's sexy laugh and refusal to let him get away with anything make her irresistible. Determined not to be kicked out of her life without a fight, Hunter proposes a bet: if she can convince him she either truly loves or hates him, he'll leave the apartment;and leave her alone.

But when the man behind Taylor's fear of giving up her heart resurfaces, she has to decide: trust Hunter with her greatest secret, or do everything in her power to win that bet and drive him away forever.
5 Stars

New Adult titles are all over the place. It’s a genre that’s still trying to figure out what it is and where it fits. But this book?

THIS BOOK.

This book fits. I think it might be my favorite NA book so far.

It had everything I wanted in it.

The perfect bad boy who isn’t really bad (oh, and he plays guitar too).

The main character with a tragic past and needs the bad boy to help her drop her walls (oh, and she’s a virgin).

Awesome friends.

Amazing family.

Honestly, I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop as I read this. I kept thinking, when is this all going to fall apart?

Hunter was an amazing guy. I did not expect that. He’s the best fiction boyfriend there is (the kind that every girl wants but doesn’t exist in real life).

And Taylor was, despite her past, a badass kind of girl.

This was the perfect piece of fiction to escape life into the best kind of fantasy romance. I know I was snarky up there, but aren’t we looking for a bit of cliche in our favorite romances? I know I am. My Favorite Mistake was everything I hoped it would be and more.

What Others Are Saying:

  • Confessions of a BookaholicThere are so many light-hearted, funny moments in this story but the underlying idea is very deep and personal for the characters. 
  • Books Over BoysMy Favorite Mistake was a sweet and touching novel about two broken people who helped each other realize that the past didn’t dictate their futures.
  • Smexy BooksA heroine I didn’t like and a romance that took too long to develop. This one didn’t work for me.

Divider