Author: Kelley Armstrong

Divider

Personal Demon by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #8) – Review

August 5, 2013 Review 0 ★★★★

Personal Demon by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #8) – ReviewRelease Date: March 25, 2008
Title: Personal Demon
Series: Women of the Otherworld #8
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Pages: 371
Publisher: Bantam Spectra
Source: Owned
Available: Barnes and Noble | Kobo | iBookstore | The Book Depository | Powell's
From the Publisher: Tabloid reporter Hope Adams appears to live the life of an ordinary working girl. But in addition to possessing the beauty of a Bolly-wood princess, Hope has other unique traits. For she is a half demon- a human fathered by a demon. And she's inherited not only a gift for seeing the past but a hunter for chaos- along with a talent for finding it wherever she can. Naturally, when she's chosen by a very dangerous group for a very dangerous mission, she jumps at the chance...

The head of the powerful Cortez Cabal- a family that makes the mob look like amateurs- has a little problem in Miami: a gang of wealthy, bored offspring of supernaturals is getting out of hand, and Hope is needed to infiltrated. As spells, astral projections, and pheromones soar across South Beach, Hope weaves her way through its elite hot spots, posing as upscale eye candy and reading the auras of the clientele- and potential marks.
4 Stars

This is another book where we get a main character who has previously been one of the supporting characters. This time it’s Hope Adams.

I like Hope. I really liked that she was given her own story and voice in this book.

The other really great thing about this book? Karl.

I am a sucker for a Dominant Alpha male. And okay, so technically Karl isn’t an Alpha because Jeremy is the werewolf Alpha, but I’m talking more about the personality trait. Karl is very Dominant and possessive. What can I say? I like it so long as it doesn’t come with a side of douchebaggery. And with Karl, it doesn’t.

In this book Karl and Hope come to terms with their feelings for one another. Watching them fight their feelings for each other because of THINGS and fail miserably was entertaining, to say the very least.

And it allowed for some steamy scenes between Hope and Jaz that I definitely don’t regret reading.

The romance isn’t the only part of this book though. There is, of course, the case that Hope is working. Everyone ends up getting involved – even Lucas and Paige make an appearance. And I can honestly say that I didn’t see it coming. There was nothing predictable about who the villain was and why they were doing what they were doing. Kelley Armstrong really knows how to write a great mystery.

And in the end, while Personal Demon isn’t my favorite book of the series, it is certainly one of my favorites (okay okay – I say that about all of them I know – but they’re all so good!).

What Others Have to Say:

  • Graeme’s Fantasy Book ReviewsOn the whole though ‘Personal Demon’ was a very entertaining read that really engaged me, a nice slice of ‘Urban Fantasy’ in a series that I may have to go back to and read more.
  • The Original Urban Fantasy LandWhile the pacing of Personal Demon is bogged down in places, it is still a very worthwhile read and integral to the development of the series. After the events in Personal Demon, things are forever changed for some of the characters and I am interested to see how the future unfolds for them.
  • Nyx Book ReviewsIt’s been a while since a book engaged me so much. It’s probably just me being weird, but I loved Hope being undercover in the gang. It was all just so exciting.

 

Divider

Review: No Humans Involved by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #7)

July 1, 2013 Review 1 ★★★★

Review: No Humans Involved by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #7)Release Date: February 26, 2008
Title: No Humans Involved
Series: Women of the Otherworld #7
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Pages: 505
Publisher: Bantam Spectra
Source: Owned
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Readers around the world have fallen for Kelley Armstrong's intoxicating, sensual, and wicked tales of the paranormal, in which demons, witches, werewolves, and vampires collide-often hilariously, sometimes violently-with everyday life. In Armstrong's first six novels, Elena, Paige, and Eve have had their way with us. Now get ready for Jaime Vegas, the luscious, lovelorn, and haunted necromancer. Jaime, who knows a thing or two about showbiz, is on a television shoot in Los Angeles when weird things start to happen. As a woman whose special talent is raising the dead, her threshold for weirdness is pretty high: she's used to not only seeing dead people but hearing them speak to her in very emphatic terms. But for the first time in her life-as invisible hands brush her skin, unintelligible fragments of words are whispered into her ears, and beings move just at the corner of her eye-she knows what humans mean when they talk about being haunted. Jaime is determined to get to the bottom of these manifestations, but as she sets out to solve the mystery she has no idea how scary her investigation will get or to what depths ordinary humans will sink in their attempts to gain supernatural powers. As she digs into the dark underside of Los Angeles, she'll need as much Otherworld help as she can get in order to survive, calling on her personal angel, Eve, and Hope, the well-meaning chaos demon. Jeremy, the alpha werewolf, is also by her side offering protection. And, Jaime hopes, maybe a little more than that.
4 Stars

Finally, Jaime gets to be in the spotlight! Clumsy, sweet tongue-tied (well, when Jeremy is around) Jaime. While I love Elena and the rest of the gang, it’s nice for some new blood to take over.  Jamie is my favorite kind of main character – strong, kick ass, and not afraid to ask for help (some of the other ladies in this world should take notes).

And in this one, we finally get to see Jeremy let his hair down! How could I not adore Jaime for that?

The mystery that she needs to solve is a dark one – much darker than we’ve seen in the past 6 books. It involves children. Ghosts of children. And she must do it while living in a reality-tv style house complete with cameras and other “psychics” like herself.

Basically – shit gets real.

But Jaime calls in her friends – Eve, Kristof, Jeremy, and Hope – to help her and together they work to figure out just what in the world is going on. All while not revealing that she is truly a necromancer in front of the cameras!

Jaime and Jeremy’s relationship has been hinted at for several books. She’s waited for four years for him to finally come around so that was my favorite part of the novel, hands down. Seeing them finally have a chance to explore one another and begin to be together was truly special after watching them crush on one another for so long in previous books. And Jaime had no qualms whatsoever teasing him. Relentlessly.

But in reality, there is nothing about this world that I don’t like. Kelley Armstrong can’t write an Otherworld novel that I won’t enjoy. There are some I enjoy more than others because I am more emotionally invested in the characters, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like the new characters. Each time I come back to one of these books, it feels like coming home to something. These characters are my friends. I know them intimately. I feel what they feel.

And in the case of Jaime Vegas? I may have felt a lot of werewolf sex.

Just sayin’.

Other Reviews:

Divider

Review: Broken by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #6)

June 13, 2013 Review 1 ★★★★★

Review: Broken by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #6)Release Date: April 25, 2006
Title: Broken
Series: Women of the Otherworld #6
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Pages: 444
Publisher: Bantam Spectra
Source: Owned
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Ever since she discovered she's pregnant, Elena Michaels has been on edge. After all, she's never heard of another living female werewolf, let alone one who's given birth. But thankfully, her expertise is needed to retrieve a stolen letter allegedly written by Jack the Ripper. As a distraction, the job seems simple enough-only the letter contains a portal to Victorian London's underworld, which Elena inadvertently triggers, unleashing a vicious killer and a pair of zombie thugs. Now Elena must find a way to seal the portal before the unwelcome visitors get what they're looking for-which, for some unknown reason, is Elena.
5 Stars

When I wrote my review of Bitten I said that Elena wasn’t my favorite of the women in the Women of the Otherworld series. Since that time, I have changed my mind. I adore her. Once she settled down with Clay and started a family (in this novel, she’s pregnant) yet still maintained her kick-ass persona she really grew on me. (Note: I reserve the right to change my favorite main character with each book.)

In this one, she struggled with wanting to do more than she was able to because of the pregnancy and still needing to take care of Pack responsibilities. It was a feat she juggled remarkably well. I’m pretty sure there’s no way I could have done it.

Elena’s not the only woman in this one – Jaime Vega makes an appearance (due in no large part to her enormous crush on Jeremy) to help get rid of the zombies released by the portal.  The books with the crossovers are the best ones to me. When the characters work as a team across the supernatural races – that’s when I really love this series.

And Jack the Ripper? In modern Canada? Well… maybe it is and maybe it isn’t. You’ll have to read it to find out! I can tell you that the portal was on the From Hell letter and once the inhabitants were released, vicious killings began happening in Toronto. Very very tricksy.

Other Reviews:

Divider

Review: Haunted by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #5)

August 17, 2012 Challenges, Review 0 ★★★★★

Review: Haunted by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #5)Release Date: May 31, 2005
Title: Haunted
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Pages: 528
Publisher: Bantam Spectra
Source: Owned
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Eve Levine — half-demon, black witch and devoted mother — has been dead for three years. She has a great house, an interesting love life and can’t be killed again — which comes in handy when you’ve made as many enemies as Eve. Yes, the afterlife isn’t too bad — all she needs to do is find a way to communicate with her daughter, Savannah, and she’ll be happy.

But fate — or more exactly, the Fates — have other plans. Eve owes them a favor, and they’ve just called it in. An evil spirit called the Nix has escaped from hell. She feeds on chaos and death, and is very good at persuading people to kill for her. The Fates want Eve to hunt her down before she does any more damage, but the Nix is a dangerous enemy — previous hunters have been driven insane in the process. As if that’s not problem enough, the only way to stop her is with an angel’s sword. And Eve is no angel. . .
5 Stars

Eve. Another of my favorites. It’s probably no surprise that it’s all of the witches that stay at the top of my list. Of course, I love all of the women in this series – they’re strong, independent, and capable women. Is it any wonder that I love them? There’s a reason I love Buffy and Xena too. And they all fit the same bill.

And frankly, Eve is the most BAMF of all of the Otherworld Women. She’s a half-demon/witch/ghost/<CENSORED FOR SPOILERS>. I mean really – it doesn’t get any more BAMF than that! And on top of that – she will do anything to protect those she loves.

The setting of this book is quite different from the previous ones; it takes places almost entirely in the afterlife. That is – in the plane of existence where supernaturals go when they die. This adds an entirely new dimension (pun intended) to the world that Armstrong has created.

While I don’t want to be Eve (I like living, thankyouverymuch), I certainly admire her and I am glad that our folks in the Otherworld have her on their team. Especially when there’s a mystery that needs solving or a demon spirit that needs catching!

Other Reviews:

Divider

Review: Industrial Magic by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #4)

August 10, 2012 Challenges, Review 0 ★★★★

Review: Industrial Magic by Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld #4)Release Date: October 26, 2004
Title: Industrial Magic
Series: Women of the Otherworld
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Pages: 560
Publisher: Bantam Spectra
Source: Owned
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Paige Winterbourne, a headstrong young woman haunted by a dark legacy, is now put to the ultimate test as she fights to save innocents from the most insidious evil of all…

In the aftermath of her mother's murder, Paige broke with the elite, ultraconservative American Coven of Witches. Now her goal is to start a new Coven for a new generation. But while Paige pitches her vision to uptight thirty-something witches in business suits, a more urgent matter commands her attention.

Someone is murdering the teenage offspring of the underworld's most influential Cabals—a circle of families that makes the mob look like amateurs. And none is more powerful than the Cortez Cabal, a faction Paige is intimately acquainted with. Lucas Cortez, the rebel son and unwilling heir, is none other than her boyfriend. But love isn't blind, and Paige has her eyes wide open as she is drawn into a hunt for an unnatural-born killer. Pitted against shamans, demons, and goons, it's a battle chilling enough to make a wild young woman grow up in a hurry. If she gets the chance.
4 Stars

I honestly can’t get enough of this world. Paige is finally growing up, and now I remember why she became one of my favorite characters of the series. I love her determination and her convictions. No matter if something isn’t easy (or if it’s super dangerous), she will always do the right thing.

This is also the first book where we get an in depth look at the inner workings of cabals. This is important for later series by Armstrong.

What always strikes me about this series is how intricate the world building is. New characters are introduced, old characters come visit, and everything about the world makes sense and flows together. It’s quite baffling to me, someone who is not a writer or world builder. Awe-inspiring, even.

All I know is that with each new book, I find myself wanting to live in the world she has created. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Other Reviews:

Divider