Author: Kevin Hearne

Divider

Audiobook Review: Tricked by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #4)

August 22, 2012 Review 1 ★★★★

Audiobook Review: Tricked by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #4)Release Date: April 24, 2012
Title: Tricked
Series: The Iron Druid Chronicles #4
Author: Kevin Hearne
Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Length: 10h 41m
Publisher: Del Rey
Source: Audible
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Druid Atticus O’Sullivan hasn’t stayed alive for more than two millennia without a fair bit of Celtic cunning. So when vengeful thunder gods come Norse by Southwest looking for payback, Atticus, with a little help from the Navajo trickster god Coyote, lets them think that they’ve chopped up his body in the Arizona desert.

But the mischievous Coyote is not above a little sleight of paw, and Atticus soon finds that he’s been duped into battling bloodthirsty desert shapeshifters called skinwalkers. Just when the Druid thinks he’s got a handle on all the duplicity, betrayal comes from an unlikely source. If Atticus survives this time, he vows he won’t be fooled again. Famous last words.
4 Stars

I was all set to hate this one because Coyote is a prominent character and I truly dislike Coyote. But surprisingly enough, I didn’t hate it at all. I loved it!

Oberon is back!

Granuaile is making huge strides in her apprenticeship to Atticus, and it was honestly lovely to see the three of them (Granuaile, Atticus, and Oberon) working together to help the earth and defeat the skinwalkers. These guys are the heart of the series and going back to them made putting up with Coyote worth it. Especially since Coyote helped Atticus fake his death not once but twice to avoid death by god.

I think one of my favorite parts of the book was when Atticus communicated with the elemental Colorado. The elemental was so sad and lonely and then got so happy that Atticus was there. It made me get a big goofy grin on my face.

When this book opened, it was with Atticus faking his death to avoid the consequences of the events in Hammered. It felt like the end of an era. Atticus had already gotten rid of his bookstore and moved out of his house. His life in Tempe was over. And then the more you read (or listened) you realized that a new chapter of his story was just beginning. The decade he spent in Tempe was a small blip in the life of the two thousand year old druid.

There are two more books scheduled to come out in the series, but I hope that there are more after those. And I really hope that he starts to give Granuaile Immortali-Tea.

Other Reviews:

Divider

Audiobook Review: Hammered by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #3)

August 13, 2012 Review 0 ★★★★

Audiobook Review: Hammered by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #3)Release Date: July 5, 2011
Title: Hammered
Author: Kevin Hearne
Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Length: 9h 40m
Publisher: Del Rey
Source: Audible
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Thor, the Norse god of thunder, is worse than a blowhard and a bully—he’s ruined countless lives and killed scores of innocents. After centuries, Viking vampire Leif Helgarson is ready to get his vengeance, and he’s asked his friend Atticus O’Sullivan, the last of the Druids, to help take down this Norse nightmare.

One survival strategy has worked for Atticus for more than two thousand years: stay away from the guy with the lightning bolts. But things are heating up in Atticus’s home base of Tempe, Arizona. There’s a vampire turf war brewing, and Russian demon hunters who call themselves the Hammers of God are running rampant. Despite multiple warnings and portents of dire consequences, Atticus and Leif journey to the Norse plain of Asgard, where they team up with a werewolf, a sorcerer, and an army of frost giants for an epic showdown against vicious Valkyries, angry gods, and the hammer-wielding Thunder Thug himself.
4 Stars

I watched the movie Thor the weekend before I started listening to this one. It was completely disconcerting to see Thor portrayed in such a negative light after watching the dreamy Liam Hemsworth play such a nice god. But truly – the Thor of this world is a douchenozzle.

After hearing folks rail on him in passing throughout the previous two books, it was nice to finally get the back-story for why people wanted to see him dead. Plus, hearing both Leif and Gunnar’s stories provided depth of character that we hadn’t previously seen. Gunnar became more than just a hired gun; this story gave him character and personality and humanity that we hadn’t seen before.

The story-telling and world building in this installment of the series outshined the first two books. The only thing missing were two of my favorite characters – Oberon and Granuaile. Understandably, they couldn’t accompany Atticus and the others into Asgard. Lucky for us, however, Kevin Hearne wrote about their adventure while Atticus was gone in the short story A Test of Mettle (hint: click the title to read it!)

One of the best parts of this series is the humor that is continuously interjected. Atticus is a funny dude. Picture it: Atticus tries to explain to a 1000 year old vampire what a “squee” is – and offers examples for when he himself squees.

Yeah, that really happened.

How could you not want to go read (or listen!) to this one now?

Other Reviews:

Divider

Audiobook Review: Hexed by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #2)

August 6, 2012 Review 6 ★★★★

Audiobook Review: Hexed by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #2)Release Date: June 7, 2011
Title: Hexed
Series: The Iron Druid Chronicles #2
Author: Kevin Hearne
Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Length: 8h 52m
Publisher: Del Rey
Source: Audible
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, doesn’t care much for witches. Still, he’s about to make nice with the local coven by signing a mutually beneficial nonaggression treaty—when suddenly the witch population in modern-day Tempe, Arizona, quadruples overnight. And the new girls are not just bad, they’re badasses with a dark history on the German side of World War II.

With a fallen angel feasting on local high school students, a horde of Bacchants blowing in from Vegas with their special brand of deadly decadence, and a dangerously sexy Celtic goddess of fire vying for his attention, Atticus is having trouble scheduling the witch hunt. But aided by his magical sword, his neighbor’s rocket-propelled grenade launcher, and his vampire attorney, Atticus is ready to sweep the town and show the witchy women they picked the wrong Druid to hex.
4 Stars

My only real complaint about this one is that Oberon wasn’t in it quite as much as he was in the first one. And this is also the book that introduces us to Coyote – who I hate with a passion. Not only do I dislike the character himself, I truly dislike hearing him speak in the audiobook – not to mention how Atticus attempts a terrible Southern drawl when he speaks to Coyote. It’s distracting.

The overall story itself is somewhat disjointed. It felt more like several short stories strung together into a book because there was just so much going on – a demon round up, Bacchants, a coven of witches out for blood… and all of those story lines were pretty much independent of one another. I found myself feeling sorry for Atticus because the poor guy never got a break!

Despite the disjointed feeling of the story, I found myself completely enamored (still!) with all of the characters. This definitely remains one of my all time favorite fictional worlds. And Luke Daniels as the narrator continues to bring all of the characters to life. It truly leaves me in awe when a single man can produce so many varied voices of both genders – and you buy every single one of them. That’s talent, right there.

Other Reviews:

Divider

Audiobook Review: Hounded by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1)

June 1, 2012 Review 5 ★★★★★

Audiobook Review: Hounded by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1)Release Date: May 3, 2011
Title: Hounded
Series: The Iron Druid Chronicles #1
Author: Kevin Hearne
Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Length: 8h 11m
Publisher: Del Rey
Source: Audible
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: The first novel in the original, six-book Iron Druid Chronicles—introducing a cool, new, funny urban fantasy hero

Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, lives peacefully in Arizona, running an occult bookshop and shape-shifting in his spare time to hunt with his Irish wolfhound. His neighbors and customers think that this handsome, tattooed Irish dude is about twenty-one years old—when in actuality, he’s twenty-one centuriesold. Not to mention: He draws his power from the earth, possesses a sharp wit, and wields an even sharper magical sword known as Fragarach, the Answerer.

Unfortunately, a very angry Celtic god wants that sword, and he’s hounded Atticus for centuries. Now the determined deity has tracked him down, and Atticus will need all his power—plus the help of a seductive goddess of death, his vampire and werewolf team of attorneys, a sexy bartender possessed by a Hindu witch, and some good old-fashioned luck of the Irish—to kick some Celtic arse and deliver himself from evil.
5 Stars

On the surface, this seems like any other urban fantasy book I’ve read and loved. But really, it’s one of the most unique books I’ve ever read.

And let me just say,  I loved it.

Honestly, it was refreshing to read a book in this genre written by a man with a male main character. That almost never happens! At least, not in the circles I tend to stay in.

Atticus is a fun dude. I love to listen to him talk. He’s very formal in his narration (no contractions, even) but he knows how important speech is to fitting into the community (so that his 2000+ years don’t arouse suspicion ) and is able to converse in the vernacular. I love it.

Even though Atticus is the main character, he is not my favorite character. My favorite character in the series is his dog Oberon. Yes, you read that right, his dog. As a druid, Atticus has the ability to bind himself to his pet and teach him to talk in his mind. The two converse telepathically. And Oberon is just awesome.

He may actually be my all time favorite character ever.

Even if you don’t think you’ll like reading about the last remaining druid in a world where all of the gods of all of the pantheons are (or were) real (not to mention werewolves, vampires, and witches)… read it anyway (well truly, I recommend the audiobook). Oberon makes it worth it.

Other Reviews:

Divider