Author: Marilee Brothers

Divider

Review: Shadow Moon by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #4)

April 13, 2012 Review 1 ★★★

Review: Shadow Moon by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #4)Release Date: November 11, 2011
Title: Shadow Moon
Series: Unbidden Magic #4
Author: Marilee Brothers
Pages: 230
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Source: NetGalley
Available: Barnes and Noble
From the Publisher: Allie Emerson is hoping for a few quiet months to catch her breath after a summer that included the discovery she is not only a twin and of faery blood, but also destined to play a pivotal role in faery world. School has barely begun when Allie must kiss her hope of a normal year goodbye.

She can't escape her unfinished business with the fae, the Trimarks, or Junior Alvarez, who is making it clear he plans to win her back. Signs, portents and whispers are pushing Allie to "find the girl" before it's too late. Hoping her twin can help her solve the riddle of their destiny, Allie uncovers old secrets and begins a cross-country journey that puts her in more danger than ever before. If she succeeds, she may just find the answers that can save everyone she loves.
3 Stars

Okay, moment of truth.

I have to admit that while I find these books so utterly and completely ridiculous and over the top, I can’t put them down when I’m reading one.

That says a lot.

I don’t know what it is about these books, quite honestly.

This installment was better than the others- it wasn’t quite the three ring circus that was going on in previous books. There’s no new guy – though I thought there would be for a moment there. There’s no trip to faery, even though the fae do play a large role in this one. There is the introduction of a long-lost twin sister. But I can buy that, based on how the previous books led up to it.

The government agency kidnapping added to the over-the-top feeling, but still – it was less ridiculous than the previous book.

Things that bothered me:

  • “It sounds like I have a whole stable of hot guys just dying to take me out. Not true.”  Um, yes it is.  Boys are a commodity in this series. It’s frustrating, unrealistic, and annoying to read.
  • Allie manages to get all sorts of confidential information out of people. She asks a nurse she knows about her twin sister – born sixteen years ago – and miraculously gets all of the information she needs. Including a picture of her mom holding the twins the night they were born, courtesy of a former nurse, now turned Alzheimer’s patient, who just happens to carry pictures in her purse of every single baby she helped deliver. How unrealistic is that? AND THEN she just happens to have a friend who is such a skilled hacker that he can find people who have fake names and have faked their deaths. Right.
  • Trilby. This was her last visit and it was set up as some big emotional scene. Trilby is a character we’ve seen exactly one time in each book. And each time her visit was not necessary as she never added anything new to the plot development.
  • “…and Luella Hoptowit, token Indian (feather, not dot)…” Are you freaking kidding me?
  • Allie’s mom can’t iron the clothes because of her fae-blood aversion to iron. At first, I thought it was just a bad pun. But then it was explained. In detail. But modern irons don’t contain real iron. LAME.

But still, despite all of that, something about them has grabbed me. I’ve been pulled in. I truly want to read the next, and final, installment.

Other reviews:

Divider

Review: Moon Spun by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #3)

March 16, 2012 Review 4 ★★

Review: Moon Spun by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #3)Release Date: July 1, 2010
Title: Moon Spun
Series: Unbidden Magic #3
Author: Marilee Brothers
Pages: 246
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Source: NetGalley
From the Publisher: Junior's back from Mexico with his movie-star entourage. Beck's using his half-demon charms to "heal" a new girl. Mom's still wacky and now she's dating Principal Hostetler. High school is still an obstacle course of drama queens, bullies and nutjobs. The Trimarks are still a menace, and the moonstone pendant has revealed even more mind-boggling powers. In other words, Allie Emerson's life as the Girl Voted Least Likely To Save The World From Evil has gone from Weird to Super-Charged Super-Weird, and it's about to get even weirder. You're a faery princess. So says the mysterious Ryker, whose handsome talents include turning himself into a hawk. By the way, he and Allie are destined to marry. In faery land--Boundless. If they can save it from forces even more deadly than Trimarks and high school. The third book in the Unbidden Magic series plunges readers into a rich other-world of danger, humor, romance, fable, fairytale and magical destiny.
2 Stars

There comes a time where you just have to say enough is enough.

Yes, I still enjoyed the story – but come on! Fairies now? It’s as if Marilee Brothers is trying to cram every bit of supernatural she possibly can into this story. It’s starting to get a little far-fetched – even for this paranormal supernatural lovin’ gal.

And third book, third guy. Really? What is with this cycle of endless boys being paraded by us? It’s hinted at that Allie will end up with Junior again in the next book, but honestly I’m not really okay with that. He left, promising to come back, and instead became a television star in Mexico. All without ever picking up the damn phone. That’s a kind of untrustworthiness that does not deserve a second chance.

Allie should know better than that.

I’m frustrated with the series at this point, but I will stick it out. There’s one book left.

Other reviews:

Divider

Review: Moon Rise by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #2)

March 9, 2012 Review 3 ★★★

Review: Moon Rise by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #2)Release Date: July 22, 2009
Title: Moon Rise
Series: Unbidden Magic #2
Author: Marilee Brothers
Pages: 254
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Source: NetGalley
From the Publisher: Her mom's still dating losers. Her boyfriend's gone back to Mexico. Dad still hasn't told his wife and kids that she exists. At school, the drama queens and bullies still rule. But worst of all for Allie Emerson--aka the Star Seeker of an old Gypsy prophecy--is that her powers have taken a hike. She can't read minds anymore. She can't move stuff just by looking at it. The other Star Seekers are counting on her psychic gifts more than ever, and the evil Trimarks are closing in, eager to snatch her magic moonstone necklace while she's helpless. The hot new guy at school is ready and willing to fight her battles, but he comes with some wicked baggage.Dear Diary: I'm a little worried. My new BF is a demon.

Welcome again to Allie Emerson's funny, scary, amazing, and always unpredictable life, as the girl voted least likely to save the world from evil.
3 Stars

I have to admit, I liked this one better than the first. It feels like Marilee is really hitting her stride as far as writing and finding her character’s voices.

I didn’t like that Allie was with a different guy in this book. Even if I do like Beck better than Junior.

I’d like the mythology to be fleshed out a bit more instead of the story being driven by the “action” – what little action there is.

Everything always ends up tied into a neat little bow, but in reality none of the answers raised in even the first book have been answered.

It is an entertaining read though.

Other reviews:

Divider

Review: Moonstone by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #1)

March 2, 2012 Review 2 ★★★

Review: Moonstone by Marilee Brothers (Unbidden Magic #1)Release Date: August 1, 2008
Title: Moonstone
Series: Unbidden Magic #1
Author: Marilee Brothers
Pages: 236
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Source: NetGalley
From the Publisher: A sickly mom. A tiny house trailer. High school bullies and snarky drama queens. Bad-guy dudes with charming smiles. Allie has problems. And then there's that whole thing about fulfilling a magical prophecy and saving the world from evil. Geez. Welcome to the sad, funny, sometimes-scary world of fifteen-year-old Allie Emerson, who's struggling to keep her and her mom's act together in the small-town world of Peacock Flats, Washington. An electrical zap from a TV antenna sets off Allie's weird psychic powers. The next thing she knows she's being visited by a hippy-dippy guardian angel, and then her mysterious neighbor, the town "witch," gives her an incredible moonstone pendant that has powers only a good-hearted "Star Seeker" is meant to command. "Who, me?" is Allie's first reaction. But as sinister events begin to unfold, Allie realizes she's got a destiny to live up to. If she can just survive everyday life, in the meantime.
3 Stars

While this one had a shaky start, I genuinely enjoyed it. The writing left a lot to be desired – especially at first – but as the book continued it was more polished and each character fit into their voice a little bit more.

There were parts to it that didn’t really go – the whole character of Trilby was useless. She needed to be fleshed out and actually serve a purpose in the story, but she didn’t. She was filler – annoying filler at that.

With that being said, I enjoyed the mystery and I look forward to learning more about this prophecy and Allie’s new abilities.

Other reviews:

Divider