Author: Mary Ann Rivers

Divider

Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers (Burnside Series #2) – Review

March 21, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers (Burnside Series #2) – Review

Laugh by Mary Ann Rivers (Burnside Series #2) – ReviewRelease Date: May 6, 2014
Title: Laugh
Series: The Burnside Series #2
Author: Mary Ann Rivers
Pages: 288
Publisher: Loveswept
Source: NetGalley
Available: Barnes and Noble | iBookstore
From the Publisher: Mary Ann Rivers continues her Burnside family series—perfect for readers of Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Ruthie Knox—as two people try to share their hearts without losing their cool.

Dr. Sam Burnside is convinced that volunteering at an urban green-space farm in Lakefield, Ohio, is a waste of time—especially with his new health clinic about to open. He only goes to mollify his partner, suspecting she wants him to lighten up. Then Sam catches sight of Nina Paz, a woman who gives off more heat than a scorcher in July. Her easy smile and flirty, sizzling wit has him forgetting his infamous need for control.

Widowed when her husband was killed in Afghanistan, Nina has learned that life exists to take chances. As the daughter of migrant workers turned organic farmers, she’s built an exciting and successful business by valuing new opportunities and working hard to take care of her own. But when Sam pushes for a relationship that goes beyond their hotter-than-fire escapades, Nina ignores her own hard-won wisdom. She isn’t ready for a man who needs saving—even if her heart compels her to take the greatest risk of all: love.
5 Stars

I don’t know how she does it, but Mary Ann Rivers has taken the most unlikable character from Live (the first book in the Burnside Series) and turned him into someone my heart positively aches for.

This book is one of the most shining illustrations of the notion that what you see isn’t always what you get when it comes to fucked up humans.

And it’s amazing.

When I realized this book was about Sam, the eldest of the Burnside clan, I was turned off. I loved Des and Hefin in Live and Sam didn’t understand their love. He basically told Des she was stupid for falling for this man. And then he railed on his other sister Sarah while she was in the hospital.

His purpose in that book was mostly to make me want to punch him.

But now… now I understand who Sam is. Why Sam is the way he is.

Seeing someone from the outside and then spending time in their head can make you see them completely differently.

My journey through this book was, as always when it comes to a Mary Ann Rivers novel, documented through Twitter.

That’s basically it in a nutshell. I was wary. The sex scenes were incredibly steamy. Sam opened up and I saw who he really is. And then I cried tears of joy.

That’s one hell of a journey for a single book.

My advice to you? Read everything Mary Ann Rivers has ever written. You won’t regret it.

 

Divider

Live by Mary Ann Rivers (The Burnside Series #1) – Review

February 14, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★★

Live by Mary Ann Rivers (The Burnside Series #1) – Review

Live by Mary Ann Rivers (The Burnside Series #1) – ReviewRelease Date: January 21, 2014
Title: Live
Series: The Burnside Series #1
Author: Mary Ann Rivers
Pages: 352
Publisher: Loveswept
Source: NetGalley
Available: Barnes and Noble | Kobo | iBookstore
From the Publisher: Mary Ann Rivers kicks off a new contemporary romance series—sure to please readers of Ruthie Knox, Kristan Higgins, and Jill Shalvis—where love can be found unexpectedly.

If there’s an upside to unemployment, Destiny Burnside may have found it. Job searching at her local library in Lakefield, Ohio, gives her plenty of time to ogle the hottest man she has ever laid eyes on: the sexy wood-carver who’s restoring the building. But as the rejection letters pile up, Destiny finds an unexpected shoulder to cry on. With his rich Welsh accent, Hefin Thomas stirs Destiny so completely that, even though he’s leaving soon, she lets herself believe the memory of his scorching kisses will be enough.

Hefin can’t help but notice the slender, confident woman with ginger hair who returns each day, so hopeful and determined. So when the tears start to fall, his silence—penance for a failed marriage—finally cracks. Once he’s touched her, what Hefin wants is to take her back to Wales and hold her forever. But Destiny’s roots run too deep. What they both need is each other—to learn how to live and love again.
5 Stars

You’ve previously seen me gush about Mary Ann Rivers thanks to her amazing debut novella The Story Guy and her inclusion in the Heating Up the Holidays anthology.

This girl can write y’all!

Des and Hefin meet in the local library. She’s unemployed and applying for as many jobs as she can find and he is restoring some wood paneling for the library. And there’s an instant connection that could be felt through the pages.

Hefin is Welsh. A Welsh carpenter. Need I say more? He’s also awkwardly shy. As I was reading about him and getting to know him, I couldn’t stop myself from a flurry of tweets to Mary Ann about how much I adored Hefin and the story.

I was having so much fun reading this one! It has exactly the right amount of humor, swoons, steaminess, and everything else you want in your romance – even a little bit of snark!

And then to make things EVEN BETTER – Mary Ann posted a link to the new epilogue of The Story Guy because  – as it turns out – the library where Destiny and Hefin meet is the same library where Carrie works (I didn’t catch that my first time through, I’ll be honest).

I couldn’t stop flailing and grinning and gasping as I read more.

I can’t say enough good things about this book, and I can’t wait for the next one in the series. Anything Mary Ann writes is an absolute must read in my book – because her books create so many emotions in me that I can’t stop reacting to the things I read on the page. Reading a Mary Ann Rivers work is like a full contact sport – no part of you will emerge unscathed.

Need More Information?

  • Dear AuthorHer characters, they fall in love the way we do. They learn frank and not always lovely details about each other as they fall, and they are often actually drawn to some of those less-than-perfect details. Like knobby knees and hair in natural places.
  • Smexy BooksReading this book made me think of a cloudy day. The romance in this book is super hot, and the characters and the storyline in general are composed in such a way – a Mary Ann Rivers type way. Such care is taken to craft the characters lives, and the words she uses make me just want to roll around with my Kindle.
  • Steamy Guys After DarkMary Ann Rivers knows her characters hearts, often filled with quiet passion, sometimes desperation, but the challenges they face temper them like fine steel and they rise above the fray stronger for it. Her stories stay with me long after I’m finished reading and Live is no different.

Divider

Heating Up the Holidays 3-Story Bundle – Review

December 20, 2013 Review 0 ★★★★

Heating Up the Holidays 3-Story Bundle – ReviewRelease Date: October 28, 2013
Title: Heating Up the Holidays
Author: Lisa Renee Jones, Mary Ann Rivers, Serena Bell
Pages: 356
Publisher: Loveswept
Source: Owned
Available: Barnes and Noble | Kobo | iBookstore
From the Publisher: As leftover turkey and stuffing give way to stockings and little black dresses, this tantalizingly sexy eBook bundle offers up holiday-themed novellas from a trio of beloved romance authors. Lisa Renee Jones gives a dedicated reporter and a powerful businessman a chance to count their Thanksgiving blessings in Play with Me; Mary Ann Rivers presents Snowfall, the story of a woman who confronts a life-changing event—hopefully with a special man by her side—just in time for Christmas; and in Serena Bell’s After Midnight, an explosive New Year’s kiss leaves two strangers wondering whether they’ll ever see each other again.

PLAY WITH ME by Lisa Renee Jones

Kali Miller has spent three years reporting fluff stories, waiting for the article that will launch her career to new heights. When she suddenly finds herself forced to take a job as an executive secretary at a Vegas casino, Kali meets the subject of what will surely be a shocking exposé: her boss, Damion Ward, the arrogant and undeniably sexy CEO. But after Damion invites her to help him plan a Thanksgiving charity event, Kali begins to see another side of the man. And when she surrenders to the exhilarating tension simmering between them, Kali hopes her story will have a happy ending.

SNOWFALL by Mary Ann Rivers

Jenny Wright can’t get enough of her erotic conversations with someone she knows only as “C.” Flirting online helps Jenny temporarily escape confronting the changes to her life as she slowly loses her vision. Jenny’s occupational therapist, Evan Carlisle-Ford, is helping her prepare for the challenges ahead, but the forthright, trustworthy man can no longer ignore his growing attraction to his fiercely intelligent client. Now Jenny must choose between the safe, anonymous “C”—or the flesh-and-blood Evan, whose heated kisses can melt snow faster than it can fall.

AFTER MIDNIGHT by Serena Bell

The clock is ticking down to midnight on New Year’s Eve, and all Nora Hart and Miles Shephard can think about is kissing each other—even though they met just minutes before. Then, as fast as Miles enters Nora’s life, he’s gone . . . and she never even gets the name of the man she thinks might just be “the one.” One year later, Nora and Miles are reunited. The chemistry between them is just as strong as they remember. But Miles broke her heart once before—and this time around, Nora’s not sure whether she can give love a second chance.
4 Stars

Heating Up the Holidays is a bundle of three holiday novellas that are sure to leave you wishing for someone special this holiday season!

Play With Me by Lisa Renee Jones

This one was probably my least favorite of the three stories (though honestly, it’s hard to rank them). While reading it, I remember thinking that there were some logical inconsistencies in the writing, but now all I can remember is the sizzling romance. And since it was the romance that left a lasting impression – well that should tell you all that you need to know!

Snowfall by Mary Ann Rivers

Mary Ann is one of my very favorite writers. I raved about her debut novella, The Story Guy, and while this one didn’t get me going quite as much as that one did – I wasn’t disappointed. Once I figured out what was going on, I found myself yelling at Evan, begging him to talk to Jenny. Any story that gets me that invested and involved in the characters is an automatic win.

After Midnight by Serena Bell

This one has all of the makings of a fairy tale romance. Kissing at midnight, losing touch for a year, and then reconnecting again. It’s the stuff dreams are made of – with a hefty dose of reality tossed in for good measure. But Nora and Miles muddle through and they certainly had me cheering them on.

Overall, it was a good anthology. The stories were a bit different than what you’d expect from a holiday collection, but there was steam and sizzle and swoon.

Divider

Review: The Story Guy by Mary Ann Rivers [novella]

July 12, 2013 Review 2 ★★★★★

Review: The Story Guy by Mary Ann Rivers [novella]

Review: The Story Guy by Mary Ann Rivers [novella]Release Date: July 8, 2013
Title: The Story Guy
Author: Mary Ann Rivers
Pages: 120
Publisher: Loveswept
Source: NetGalley
Available: Barnes and Noble | Kobo
From the Publisher: In this eBook original novella, Mary Ann Rivers introduces a soulful and sexy tale of courage, sacrifice, and love.
 
I will meet you on Wednesdays at noon in Celebration Park. Kissing only.

Carrie West is happy with her life . . . isn’t she? But when she sees this provocative online ad, the thirtysomething librarian can’t help but be tempted. After all, the photo of the anonymous poster is far too attractive to ignore. And when Wednesday finally arrives, it brings a first kiss that’s hotter than any she’s ever imagined. Brian Newburgh is an attorney, but there’s more to his life . . . that he won't share with Carrie. Determined to have more than just Wednesdays, Carrie embarks on a quest to learn Brian’s story, certain that he will be worth the cost. But is she ready to gamble her heart on a man who just might be The One . . . even though she has no idea how their love story will end?
5 Stars

I never realized that a novella could have such a rich and robust story. While simultaneously making me swoon and turn me on.

This one just hit it right out of the park. And guys – this was her debut.

The Story Guy is everything you want to read in a romance. There is chemistry and passion and sex and romance just oozing off the pages. Then you’ve got the geeky-chic lonely girl librarian heroine paired with the fabulously flawed and hunky lonely boy. But his flaws, when finally revealed, will make you fall for him even more. Trust me on this one.

He fits his bottom lip gently between mine, and he is holding my head. “Mmm.” He hums, and I suck that bottom lip right into my mouth. It’s crazy. His mouth is cool and sweet. He stills. Squeezes my nape. “Okay.” He breathes into my mouth. “Okay.”

Because apparently I had just given him permission to eat me alive.

I have never had a first kiss like this. Is is that he’s a stranger? So beautiful? If so, I am ruined for anything but beautiful strangers for the rest of my life.

Steamy. And that’s just the first kiss!

I was drawn to this story because she’s a librarian and not only do I love books but I finished my MLIS in December. Instant connection. And I knew that Carrie was a girl after my own heart when she explained her (carefully hidden) tattoo of the Library of Congress call number for Wilson Rawls’s book Where the Red Fern Grows :

“The first book I ever read that made me cry. I was seven and hadn’t realized books could do that. Just finish you like that. I was sitting in a beanbag chair in the school library when the book ended, weeping, looking at all the books on the shelves all around me, and I decided then and there that I never wanted to be anywhere else.”

With a main character like that who has first kisses like the one you just read – how could you not love this story?

I laughed, I cried, and I fell in love. Exactly what I want to feel when I read a romance. Not to mention turned on. There was plenty of that too, don’t worry.

Read it, you won’t regret it. And I’ll certainly be reading anything else Ms. Rivers writes.

Other Reviews:

Divider