Author: Mindy McGinnis

Mindy

Mindy McGinnis is an assistant YA librarian who lives in Ohio and cans her own food. She graduated from Otterbein University magna cum laude with a BA in English Literature and Religion. Mindy has a pond in her back yard but has never shot anyone, as her morals tend to cloud her vision.

Divider

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – Review & Giveaway (Rockstar Tour Stop)

September 24, 2013 Blog Tour, Giveaways, Review 1 ★★★★

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – Review & Giveaway (Rockstar Tour Stop)

inanutshell2Not a Drop to Drink is a startling glimpse into a world where water is not a commodity, it is the commodity and trust can mean the difference between life and death. This book has propelled the post-apocalyptic/survivalist genre back to the top of my list.

 

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – Review & Giveaway (Rockstar Tour Stop)Release Date: September 24, 2013
Title: Not a Drop to Drink
Author: Mindy McGinnis
Pages: 320
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Publisher Provided
Available: Barnes and Noble

From the Publisher: Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water. 

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn't leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.
4 Stars

An hour before bedtime I decided to pick up my copy of Not a Drop to Drink and read “just for an hour.”

Right.

Let’s just say I woke up with gnashing of teeth and much moaning the next morning because I stayed up to finish the book.

Yes – it was one of those.

And I was so pleasantly surprised to find that it was.

I admit, the world-building was a little lacking. I’m still not entirely sure what happened or why. It was addressed, eventually, but the explanation didn’t satisfy me. But in the grand scheme of things, it didn’t matter why there was a water shortage or why cholera was such a plague. This story was Lynn’s story. Not a Drop to Drink wasn’t the story of a world going to hell; it was the story of a girl who lived in it already. And Mindy McGinnis wrote her characters vividly and very realistically.

There was a coldness at the beginning that I almost didn’t pick up on. Lynn called her mom, “Mother” and had no idea that she had a real name beyond it. The love between the two was fierce, but Mother would have no qualms about turning the gun on her own daughter to save her from being taken by men who wouldn’t kill her quickly. Lynn’s world was small. It was a basement with an empty house above it, a barn, a pond, and her Mother. She didn’t know about a world with bad men in it, even though she was sixteen. Her Mother taught her (from the age of nine) to kill anyone who walked onto their property without asking questions.

When circumstances leave Lynn alone, she ends up finding help and unexpected friendship from the neighbor who had been a familiar stranger her entire life. Lynn begins to realize that people aren’t always the enemy and her walls begin to drop. She offers help to those who need it and bonds are formed. One of my favorite characters is a 5 year old girl who ends up living with Lynn for a large chunk of the book.

When her way of life is threatened, she knows that she has to protect her home and those she cares for no matter the cost.

This book is dark and often bleak. But to me it read as if it were a guidebook to humanity.

If you’re a fan of post-apocalyptic or survivalist stories (think Mike Mullins Ashfall series) you will absolutely love this book.

 

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Tour Schedule

Week 1

9/16/2013-Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf Interview

9/17/2013- Never Too Fond of Books– Guest Post

9/18/2013- A Book and a LatteGuest Post

9/19/2013- Books Complete MeReview

9/20/2013- The Eater of Books!Interview

Week 2

9/23/2013- Readers in WonderlandReview

9/24/2013- Books Over BoysGuest Post, Never Too Fond of Books– Review

9/25/2013- Reading and Writing Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, and Romance Guest Post

9/26/2013- Falling For YAReview

9/27/2013- Some Like It Paranormal Interview

About Mindy McGinnis

Mindy

Mindy McGinnis is an assistant YA librarian who lives in Ohio and cans her own food. She graduated from Otterbein University magna cum laude with a BA in English Literature and Religion. Mindy has a pond in her back yard but has never shot anyone, as her morals tend to cloud her vision.

Divider

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – Guest Post & Giveaway (Rockstar Tour Stop)

September 17, 2013 Blog Tour, Giveaways, Guest Post 4

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – Guest Post & Giveaway (Rockstar Tour Stop)

I’m excited to host the fabulous Mindy McGinnis on my blog today with a guest post!

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – Guest Post & Giveaway (Rockstar Tour Stop)Release Date: September 24, 2013
Title: Not a Drop to Drink
Author: Mindy McGinnis
Pages: 320
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Available: Barnes and Noble

From the Publisher: Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water. 

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn't leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.

Guest Post by Mindy McGinnis

Whenever I’m asked to write about 10 Things You Don’t know About… anything related to me, I find myself in a pickle. That’s mostly because I talk – a lot and loudly – about pretty much everything in my world. And that covers both the real one and the slightly skewed ones I make up in my head. Just ask my poor friends, who picked me up expecting a girl’s night and ended up being regaled about the history of criminal profiling and the results of frontal lobotomies.

But, I shall wade valiantly into this fray and see if I can’t toss together a solid 10 things I haven’t already forced a lot of people to hear concerning my debut, Not A Drop to Drink.

  1. Not A Drop to Drink is pretty much set in my backyard. I have a pond, but as I am quick to assure everyone – I haven’t shot anyone. Yet.
  2. Not A Drop to Drink was the intended and original title of the book from inception to publication. I’m one of the few authors who get to keep their title.
  3. I wrote the flap copy (the inside dust jacket synopsis) myself! Usually the editor and/or marketing people are responsible for this, but I asked if I could take a stab at it. Everyone at Harper Collins/Katherine Tegen books has been really supportive and awesome!
  4. The deer-gutting scene is written from personal experience.
  5. Water witching, or dousing, is a very common practice and while it’s not entirely understood, it is not viewed as a paranormal phenomenon. Dousing is about being in tune with nature, not the otherworldly.
  6. I don’t plot when I write, I simply let the story tell itself. One major event that takes place in the book completely came out of the blue. You’ll know it when you see it. I didn’t mean for her to do that. She chose to.
  7. I don’t describe my characters, and that’s something some people will love and some people will hate. I specifically make the decision to not include these details so that my readers can imagine themselves as the characters, or see them however they choose.
  8. I knew the first and last line of this book before I started it. The in between bits were work.
  9. The girl walking away from the camera at the final shot in the official trailer is my cousin.
  10. There’s a typo in my first edition finished copies! I’m not telling where!

What a great list! Thanks for stopping by Mindy!

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Tour Schedule

Week 1

9/16/2013-Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf Interview

9/17/2013- Never Too Fond of Books– Guest Post

9/18/2013- A Book and a LatteGuest Post

9/19/2013- Books Complete MeReview

9/20/2013- The Eater of Books!Interview

Week 2

9/23/2013- Readers in WonderlandReview

9/24/2013- Books Over BoysGuest Post

9/25/2013- Reading and Writing Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, and Romance Guest Post

9/26/2013- Falling For YAReview

9/27/2013- Some Like It Paranormal Interview

About Mindy McGinnis

Mindy

Mindy McGinnis is an assistant YA librarian who lives in Ohio and cans her own food. She graduated from Otterbein University magna cum laude with a BA in English Literature and Religion. Mindy has a pond in her back yard but has never shot anyone, as her morals tend to cloud her vision.

Divider